The most successful team in ICC Men’s T20 World Cup history are back. West Indies will be determined to regain their crown after a disappointing display in the UAE and Oman last year.

After bidding farewell to the likes of Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and Chris Gayle, a new-look Windies team has a battle on their hands to recapture past glories.

A fresh challenge awaits the two-time champions, with a tricky First Round to navigate before they can reach the Super 12s, where they exited in 2021.

West Indies have claimed series wins since the last World Cup, but they have also suffered whitewash defeats to Pakistan and India and beaten recently by New Zealand and Australia.

Carlos Brathwaite, at Eden Gardens in the 2016 final, the West Indies required 19 off the final over to better England’s 156 posting. He stokes for four consecutive sixes to clinch their second title.

Middle-order batter, Nicholas Pooran, is the most experienced member of the squad and has big shoes to fill after taking on the white-ball captaincy vacated by the retired Pollard.

The West Indies attack is led by 29-year-old left arm slow bowler Akeal Hosein who has enjoyed a rapid rise to prominence since his T20 debut in 2021 with 44 wickets from 29 matches.