A total of nine players have been shortlisted for the award representing England, India, Pakistan, Zimbabwe and Sri Lanka

Ahead of the final of the T20 World Cup 2022, the ICC has revealed the names of nine cricketers shortlisted for the player of the tournament award.

The summit clash of the showpiece event will be played on November 13 (Sunday). The list comprises two Indian batters including Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav

The other names are Shadab Khan (Pakistan), Shaheen Afridi (Pakistan), Sam Curran (England), Jos Buttler (England), Alex Hales (England), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe) and Wanindu Hasaranga (Sri Lanka).

England lead the nomination chart with as many as three players in running for the big prize while two players each from India and Pakistan have made the cut.

Kohli is currently the leading run-getter of the tournament having made 296 runs from six innings including four fifties.

His 82 not out against Pakistan has been deemed as one of the finest individual performances in T20 history.

Suryakuma made the difference with his fearless shot-making as he plundered 239 runs from six innings at a stunning strike-rate of 189.68. He’s also the top-ranked T20I batter as well.